wholesale jerseys uggs boots

Meet the Author: Exclusive Facebook Event

If you haven’t read Little Princes yet, here’s your chance! On February 25th, author Conor Grennan is joining us on Facebook for a real-time Q&A. You can ask Conor your questions today, by leaving a comment below, and automatically be entered to win one of five signed hardcover copies of his brand new book.


From his book:

“IT WAS WELL AFTER nightfall when I realized we had gone the wrong way. The village I had been looking for was somewhere up the mountain. In my condition, it would be several hours’ walk up a rocky trail, if we could even find the trail in the pitch-dark. My two porters and I had been walking for thirteen hours straight. Winter at night in the mountains of northwestern Nepal is bitterly cold, and we had no shelter. Two of our three flashlights had burned out. Worse, we were deep in a Maoist rebel stronghold, not far from where a colleague had been kidnapped almost exactly one year before. I would have shared this fact with my porters, but we were unable to com­municate; I spoke only a few words of the local dialect.” Read more.


Little Princes is the true story of Conor Grennan’s journey to Nepal and how he found his life’s focus, helping reunite orphaned children with their families. In the vein of Three Cups of Tea or Mountains Beyond Mountains, it’s one of those feel-good memoirs that reminds us all how much of a difference we can make in the world.

What I loved so much about Grennan’s story was that he didn’t start out with a save-the-world mission. He was traveling around the globe on his own adventure, and only stopped off to volunteer for a month in Nepal to impress his friends and family. But his transformation was truly inspiring.

So join us on February 25th at 3 pm for a chance to talk to Conor, learn more about his work with our Better to Give partner Next Generation Nepal, and win a free signed copy hardcover edition of Little Princes.

RSVP today, by leaving a comment or question for Conor below.

Written by julia

Julia is the Community Outreach Manager.

33 Comments

  1. Natalie Gerow

    Hey Conor… As you know, I really (I mean really really…) enjoyed your book. In the two days that it took me to read it, my life changed and I am now a sponsor to one of your rescued children… I was wondering if you’re currently writing another book, or if you plan on writing a sequel to “Little Princes” with possible updates on some of the children featured?

    Thanks again Conor – I could never be a “quasi-humanitarian” without your push!

  2. Cari Hammer Recchio

    What is the the long term affects on these poor children? Are they wary of people or even going outside? Or once they get back to their families do they revert back to all the habits of daily life in order to live as they did before they were taken? Have any of them benn taken again?

    thank you!

  3. Sarah Chatterjee

    I’ve not yet read your book, but can’t wait to get my hands on it. What is the best advice you can give to others who want to help in ways other than donations?

  4. Sharon Nason

    I would like to know how you got involved in the volunteer work in Nepal? I haven’t read your book but am fasinated to find out how you helped the children and what brought you to continue.

  5. Donna Zeches

    I just found out about your book and I can’t wait to read it. What a wonderful story of commitment and love to the children and what a blessing for their parents of Nepal. Keep writing.

  6. Kim

    Thank you for writing such a powerful story. Since your journey started as a volunteer mission at the orphanage, how do you feel about the very real possiblity of volunteer service programs in the U.S., such as AmeriCorps, being cut from the 2012 federal budget?

  7. Luciana

    I can’t wait to read your book! Will be inspiring!
    Back home, how did the experience change you? And can you still help them being back home?

  8. diego

    I’d like to be entered into the drawing for this book.
    My question would be: Do you keep in touch with the children you had helped?
    Thanks.

  9. Jodi Keen

    Hi Conor,

    My question relates to your family. How did your experience in Nepal change their own humanitarianism?

  10. Lora

    Dear Conor – Thank you for the work you do on behalf of these children and their families. My question: For the many of us who, for many reasons, cannot be involved in the actual work but wish to support it – what are the best ways of doing so? Thank you again. Blessings now and always -

  11. Suzanne H Ford

    Conor, I’ve been to Nepal as a tourist and was enchanted (as well as delirious from amoebic dysentary picked up in Chitwan, but that’s another story). How does one find out about volunteer opportunities in third world countries?

  12. April

    Conor,
    Your story sounds amazing and inspiring, especially for someone who is interested in volunteering overseas.

    What’s next for the children of the Little Princess orphanage? How is your (and their) story moving forward?

    Thank you.

  13. April

    Conor,

    Your story sounds amazing and inspiring, especially for someone who is interested in volunteering overseas.

    What’s next for the children of the Little Princess orphanage? How is your (and their) story moving forward?

    Thank you.

  14. Brittany Bingold

    Dear Conor,

    I’m a young female whose only true passion in life thus far has settled into the idea of unity of cultures and cultural understanding for those brought up in different ‘worlds’ than that of your own; after all we are all merely human and can’t break that mutual bond! How did you get your start in your journeys for helping the orphaned and what prompted to you seek out that path? Besides your excellent writing, do you have any other big humanitarian goals in store? How can I help!

    Thank you kindly for your time and inspiration.
    Wishing you all the best in your ventures,
    B.Bingold

  15. Katie Affleck

    This sounds like such an amazing book and experience and I am eager to read it! My question would be what inspired you to help reunite orphaned children with their families? How did you know that this was what you were meant to do? How has this changed your outlook on life in general? I am looking forward to the Q&A! Thank you for the opportunity!

  16. Clare

    This is such a great idea to give people a chance to engage with the author. I would love to be a part of the Q & A and be entered in the drawing. Thanks for the opportunity! -Clare

  17. Noreen

    Grennan’s journey to Nepal is a great example of a happy “accident”. How lucky are these children that someone would take the time to reunite them with their parents. My Q&A for the author – who does the research to find their parents? do you often travel back to Nepal to do this, or did this only happen when you were there on vacation?

  18. Lana

    I recently heard about your book and marked it to read, so I’m very excited to be a part of this Meet the Author. I am a fellow traveler and am currently contemplating where I should go next and the best program with which to volunteer. How did you find the organization you volunteered with in Nepal? And do you have any recommendations for me? Thank you!

  19. MonicaW

    My question for Conor is – have any of the children at Little Princes become advisors or researchers for Next Generation Nepal?

  20. Kaia Becker

    Dear Mr. Grennan,
    I was wondering how you felt when you met the guy that was starving the kids?
    Thank you.
    Kaia Becker, age 10

  21. Michele

    I have not had the opportunity to read any of your books, but I’m looking forward to doing so! Please enter me in your drawing. Thank you.

  22. Linda

    Hello Mr. Grennan,

    I’m looking forward to reading your book. There are far and few between like your story. Has this experience inspired any future adventures?

  23. Jose Cortez

    I’m drawn to books about people’s experiences abroad, especially when they’re linked to volunteerism/humanitarianism (Three Cups of Tea, River Town, Balkan Ghosts, Men of Salt).

    I’m looking forward to reading this book! :)

  24. Lauren

    This story sounds absolutely inspiring. I am not sure if you have children, but after working with the children in Nepal, has your outlook changed on having children of your own? Or if you already have children, how has your relationship with them changed? (or with any children in your family?).

    We need more people like this in the world. Thank you for writing a book to remind us that one person can make a difference in the lives of others! I am looking forward to reading your story!

  25. Chelsea Taylor

    Hi Conor,

    I have been wanting to purchase your book for some time now. I am so inspired by your foundation and love the difference you have made for these children. I will be traveling to India this summer to teach HIV/AIDS education and awareness in secondary schools and villages and would love to visit Nepal on my way.

    I want to learn more about the lost children of Nepal and possibly volunteer with them if given the opportunity. I look forward to hearing more great things about the work you and NGN accomplish. It’s people like you who encourage social justice and human rights students like me that change is possible. Thank you.

  26. Sammi

    My question is – do you think you’d do something like this again? You must still want to see the world and change it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


seven + = 16

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>