Uncommon Knowledge: In which Presidential election did not all states vote?

George Washington may be the father of our country, but not every state participated in making him our first Presidential. In the 1789 election, New York, North Carolina and Rhode Island did not cast their votes—a full 23% of the original colonies. Their reasons for not joining in the newly established democratic process were not as a protest against the candidate—Washington was a widely beloved leader. New York’s legislature was tasked with choosing its electors, but they were deadlocked in debate and ended up sending no one. Both North Carolina and Rhode Island had not yet ratified the new United States Constitution, and were therefore not eligible to participate.

Presidential Glasses – set of 4, $48

Written by Nathan

Nathan is a copywriter, who helps create our product descriptions as well as our weekly emails. He is also a nationally award-winning musical theater writer, whose work includes an adaptation of Lois Lowry’s novel The Giver. Nathan has also been a classical violinist, tutored Kazakhstani jewelers in entrepreneurship, created large-scale games played across entire city blocks, served as a missionary in South Korea, conducted experiments in sonoluminescence, co-founded an exotic fruit-growing business, was a theater critic for Tucson Weekly, and as a teenager composed a women’s jazz quartet that is currently performed around the world.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>